Share Content in SFMC Content Builder

In this post, we will cover how to share the Content/Assets in Salesforce Marketing Cloud with other Business units in Content Builder.


Content Builder is a Content Management tool where you can create, upload, and store all the Assets/Content (Messages, Blocks, Images, and Documents).

In Enterprise 2.0 accounts, a user can create an asset under Content Builder in one Business unit and can share it with a specific or all other Business units, rather than creating it in each of them. For Enterprise 1.0 and Agency accounts, you can share down to Child Business units. Before sharing, make sure to share only the assets that are required and not all.


Sharing the content can be done in two ways:


1. Sharing with other Business Units


Option 1 - Share the Folder and the Asset


1. Select the Business unit where the asset is created.

2. Go to Content Builder and click on the 'Shared' tab.

3. Under the 'Shared' tab, create a folder and give it a name.

Note - This step is optional, but it helps you to maintain the folder structure and locate the asset quickly.

4. Click on the 'Local' tab and find the asset that needs to be shared.

5. Select the checkbox of the asset, then click on the 'Actions' button located on the top-right and click 'Move'. A pop-up would appear.

6. Go to the 'Shared' tab, select the folder that was created in Step 3.

7. Click on Save.

Note - The asset will now be visible under both the Local and Shared tabs. Changing the settings will affect the asset under both tabs.

8. Next, go to the 'Shared' tab and Right-click on the folder created in Step 3.

9. Click on 'Modify Sharing'. A pop-up would appear, where you can select the Business units to share this folder with.

Note - Once shared, the selected business unit(s) will be able to see the folder and all the assets in it. This change can also be reverted.

Option 2 - Share the asset without any Folder structure


1. Select the Business unit where the asset is created.

2. Under the 'Local' tab, find the asset to be shared

3. Select the checkbox of the asset, go to the 'Actions' button, and click on 'Share'.




4. Once shared, it moves to 'All shared content' under the 'Shared' tab and will be visible to the recipient Business unit(s).



2. Sharing across Enterprise


Under the 'Shared' tab, you cannot place the asset in the Root folder (i.e., Shared Content) and is restricted, as it would share it across the Enterprise. By default, the 'Across Enterprise Sharing' feature is disabled in all the Marketing Cloud accounts.



But this can be enabled under the Content Builder Setup page, if needed (see below).



 

Sharing the assets with editing permissions control how your users can use the content and share with the other Business units they have access to.


Edit Permissions options -


1. View and Send - The asset can only be viewed by other business units and cannot be edited/deleted.


2. Edit Locally - The asset can be only edited under the Local/Shared tab where it was created. Recipient Business units cannot edit the asset directly but can create a local edit (duplicate copy of the original asset). Doing this, will move the asset to the local tab from the shared tab of that business unit, which is editable. Any changes done, will not affect the original asset.

Note - In the Recipient Business unit, you cannot share locally edited assets and cannot move them to a 'Shared' folder. Also, the asset does not appear under the 'Shared' tab when a local copy is created.

An interesting fact is that, when the asset is deleted under the 'Local' tab, the asset is automatically restored under the 'Shared' tab with the original name.


3. Edit Globally - The asset can be edited in any of the Business units and any changes done, will affect the original asset as well.


 

Things to Note -


1. Once the asset is shared, the permissions can only be changed from the Business unit in which it was created originally. In order to change the permission settings, open the asset in the Business unit where it was created and click on 'change', in which the settings can be modified.


2. To unshare the asset with other Business Units, place it in a non-shared folder under the 'Shared' tab or move it to a folder under the 'Local' tab of the Business unit, where the asset is located. Although, you will still see the sharing icon next to the asset and will be visible under both tabs.


3. Recipient Business units cannot share/delete/move the asset that is shared with them.


4. Creating a duplicate copy of the shared asset will automatically share the new asset with the other Business units, for which the original asset was configured.


5. Assets can be shared to a maximum of 2,000 Business units.


6. In some cases, when a user shares an asset from a Business unit that you do not have access to, then the 'share' option under the 'Action' button will be disabled. But this can still be shared with other Business units by opening the asset and clicking on the 'Share' button.



Hope you enjoyed it. Feel free to contact me with any feedback/suggestions. See you in the next one!


#sfmc #sfmcstack #marketingcloud #salesforcemarketingcloud #ContentBuilder #BusinessUnits